Skip to content

shopping and shipping

December 16, 2008

I am 99% finished with my Christmas shopping, and this year I have to admit, I became an online shopping pro. I did the majority of my shopping online this year, and I don’t think I paid to ship a single item. Yay!

I’ve even had a few family members call and ask me to shop for them. Perhaps this is a way I could earn a little extra income. I will be your personal shopper for only $20 an hour, or maybe 10% of the purchase price… I promise to find you the lowest price and have it to you in time for Christmas. Okay, maybe not this year.

While I was perfecting my shopping skills, I discovered something new at Amazon. Unfortunately I am passing this tip along a little late, as there are only two days left to use Amazon’s free shipping in order to get things in time for Christmas. But here it is…. frustration free packaging. Apparently this is something new on Amazon this year. Basically these items come to you without all the wires, screws, styrofoam, etc… and as an added bonus, they are cheaper. Sometimes significantly. Here are a couple examples. The Matchbox Mega Rig Space Shuttle, regularly priced $56.99, but with the frustration free packaging, only $44.96. And for those of you with girls, how about the Little Mommy Gotta Go Doll, regularly priced $59.99, but with frustration-free packaging, only $39.99. Now, so far there aren’t a lot of products available in this fashion, but I was able to take advantage of it with three different gifts. I am assuming that once people catch on to the idea, the price gap will shrink a bit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 10:51 pm

    Very cool. That is the best gift to Dads to have frustration free packaging.

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    December 16, 2008 11:10 pm

    Indeed.

Leave a Reply

