Skip to content

putting Christmas on hold for a day

December 18, 2008

Today we took a break from all the hustle and bustle of Christmas (or perhaps just exchanged it for hustle and bustle of a different kind). Today my baby turned two.

Little Sawyer has brought so much joy (and chaos) into our lives. He’s everything a little boy should be: tough and rambunctious – a tornado on two feet. And then just when I think I won’t possibly survive another minute, he flashes his sweet  little devilish smile and I know I’m in trouble for the rest of my life.

Everyday I hear him say something new:

“Hold you Mommy.”

“Fix it Mommy.”

“Thank you Mommy.”

And this week he learned to say, “I’m not a baby, I’m a BIG boy.”

It didn’t take long for me to figure out what kind of cake he would want. An owl. He LOVES owls. Figuring out how to actually make an owl cake took a bit longer though. I used ideas from this site and a couple of Pampered Chef batter bowls to come up with this cake…

owl-cake

owl cake

sawyer_owl

Sawyer loved the cake. I was a little afraid he might get upset when we cut it, but no problems there. He immediately pulled off the beak and ate it. He was still talking about it at bedtime.

Happy Birthday Baby!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 19, 2008 12:10 am

    What a beautiful cake!!! Great job Mama!

Leave a Reply

