Skip to content

Happy New Year!

January 1, 2009

I hope you had a great Christmas. We really did. Though, I have to say it was my busiest Christmas yet. Ironic, considering that early in November I vowed to be better organized so that I wouldn’t have to be so busy this year. In reality, better organization just meant that I could be busier. I made a calendar for the month of December and filled every minute with some kind of activity. I left the week of Christmas mostly empty in the hopes that  I could relax for a few days, but alas, those days were used up doing all the things that took more time than my original schedule allotted. But it was a good kind of busy, mostly.

I have to say my favorite thing we did this Christmas was reading Jotham’s Journey as a family. It became something that all of us looked forward to every night. And believe it or not, the kids didn’t really mind that we decided to read the last bit of the story Christmas morning BEFORE we opened any presents. We were all so anxious to hear the conclusion, and it really felt great to be excited about Jesus on Christmas day.

Another thing that made this Christmas extra special was pulling off two huge surprise gifts for my brothers. Several members of my family pooled funds to buy one brother a laptop (his first computer at age 40 something) and the other brother a table saw. It was great fun, but it was rough keeping so many secrets!

So now we are on to New Years I guess. Each year Christmas comes and goes long before I’m ready. But alas, the tree is dead, the Christmas lights are burning out, and 2009 is here. I don’t really have many resolutions this year. I made many last year and made some good headway, but those are all the same things that I want to work on this year. So I guess the big thing is getting a handle on my schedule. This year promises to be one of my busiest ever. I’m hosting two events, making my first wedding cake and a couple birthday cakes, and going on two HUGE trips (okay one HUGE and one BIG) all before I turn 30 in April. I’m sure the gray hairs will abound by the time that fateful day rolls around.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 1, 2009 1:29 am

    I am so glad you enjoyed Jotham’s Journey. This series has added so much to our Christmas.

Leave a Reply

