Skip to content

wrong number

February 17, 2009

I was sitting at home on a very typical Monday afternoon when the phone rang. I checked the caller ID and didn’t recognize the number, but since it was local I decided to answer. An older gentleman with a thick Southern drawl was on the other end, and I don’t think I was quite prepared for the conversation that followed…

Me: Hello?

Older Gentleman: Hey! How are you?!?

Me: (completely baffled) I’m fine. Um, could you tell me who is calling please?

Older Gentleman: What do you mean who is calling? It’s your dad!

Me: (even more baffled because my dad is from Utah and therefore completely lacking a Southern accent) Um, sir, I really think you have the wrong house.

Older Gentleman: You just don’t recognize my voice because you never call me anymore!!

Me: Sir…

Older Gentleman: I can’t believe you don’t recognize your own father!!

Me: Sir…

Older Gentleman: What is the matter with you?!?!

Me: (chuckling) Sir, I really think you have the wrong phone number.

Older Gentleman: This is Katrina, isn’t it?

Me: No sir.

Older Gentleman: Oh, I’m so sorry.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 11:19 pm

    So sweet and sad all at the same time…

Leave a Reply

