Skip to content

over the ocean

March 10, 2009

So, where have I been the last couple months? Ironically, I’ve been here, on the computer, pretty much nonstop. But not blogging (obviously) or even facebooking… I’ve been buried in planning our 10 year anniversary trip to Europe. In 1 day, 8 hours, and 32 minutes my husband and I will be boarding an airplane to cross the big ocean and then 8 hours and 45 minutes later (hopefully) we’ll be in Paris! We dreamed of a trip like this for our 10th anniversary when we were first married, but we never really thought it would be possible financially. Then a couple years ago we discovered that my husband had accumulated enough travel points to take us pretty much anywhere. After the $2000 airfare eliminated just about every exotic island retreat (Fiji will just have to wait), we settled on our original dream trip to Europe.

It was difficult to settle on just a few places to see. After all, it’s Europe! There’s Scotland, Ireland & Great Britain – a trip I’ve always dreamed of; Switzerland, Austria, Germany; Spain, Greece, & the whole Mediterranean region…  At first we thought we might just ride trains around the whole of Europe like college students, but then thought better of it. We settled on Italy with a brief stop in Paris. We’ll be in Paris for 2 days, Venice for about 24 hours, Florence/Tuscany for 4 days, and finally Rome for 6 days, and on our budget we will probably eat nothing but crepes and pizza for the whole trip.

I am more excited than I can express and my nerves are going through the same thing they do right after I board a roller coaster – when it starts to climb and I realize there is no going back now. I think I would be much less nervous if my kids were coming with us. The last time we were away from them was our 5th anniversary, when we took a Western Caribbean cruise. About a day before we left, my oldest – then not quite 3,  choked on a small piece of an almond. When it was time for us to go, he seemed okay, but he was still coughing periodically, so I advised my mom to take him to the doctor if the cough didn’t subside. Well, the coughing did get worse because the almond had lodged itself in his lung. My mom couldn’t get in touch with us because of some complication with the cruise ship, so we didn’t find out until we got home that our little one had been in the hospital for three days.

I am also a little nervous because my trips so far have tended on the disastrous side.  When I was just a kid, moving from Utah to Louisiana in a Volvo, my family – 4 kids, a dog, two cats and a bird, and my poor frazzled mother got stuck in a blizzard somewhere in Texas. We ended up spending the night in a church. Once my husband and I took a weeklong camping trip and on the first night a raccoon ate all our food, all but a bag of potatoes. On our honeymoon I left some important luggage at home, and the hotel stay, was well, a long blog for another day.  On the way home from a road trip to Utah with our young boys and my teenage niece we ended up stranded in Nebraska for a weekend thanks to our Dodge Caravan transmission. Oh and then there was last year’s trip to the Georgia Coast.

I know that all the disasters make for good memories. I know God will watch over my kids while we are gone. I know that the time away is good and necessary. But I am eternally thankful for the advent of wi-fi, e-mail and Skype.

I’m hoping to be able to blog about the trip as we go… so stay tuned. You can all pretend you’re going with me 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 1:05 pm

    So excited for you!! Prayers for a wonderful, blessed, well-deserved celebratory trip! Can’t wait to hear about you from across the pond! Update as often as you can 🙂

  2. heiditheophilus permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:10 pm

    I’m jealously excited for you! These trips are once-in-a-lifetime opportunities & it is going to be GREAT! Have much fun & be safe…the boys will be just FINE! 🙂

  3. Debby Morton permalink
    March 11, 2009 2:10 am

    Kendra I wonder if you are sleeping now like I should be or if your excitement about tomorrow has you awake. I tend to get nervous before any big trip and can’t sleep then I feel ill when I board the plane but I am sure that you wouldn’t be like that. I am sure your boys will be fine while you are gone. Have safe travels and take lots of photos.

  4. scrabblenut permalink*
    March 11, 2009 8:17 am

    Thanks everyone.

    Debby – No I didn’t sleep much last night. I wasn’t able to fall asleep until about midnight and then I woke up on Paris time, at about 3:30. 😦

Leave a Reply

