Skip to content

the twinkie experiment

March 31, 2009

Sunday afternoon I was sitting with my 6 year old watching Wall-E for the 100th time when he made a comment about the cockroach’s home. He said it looked like he was living in a caramel. It was very plain to me that the home he was referring to was actually a Twinkie. Could it be possible that my son had never seen a Twinkie?

We did the only thing you can do when faced with a situation such as this – we rushed right out to buy a box of Twinkies. It was a first for all of my children, and the first time in 20 years for me and my husband. I don’t buy much in the way of junk food. We eat fruit for snacks, and occasionally granola bars. The big splurge for the kids is those chewy fruity things, in our home simply referred to as “gummies”. Other than that we eat home made cookies, bars, etc…

It took us a while to locate them at the store. First I tried the cookies/crackers aisle, I mean, that is where the majority of the junk food is located, so I thought it was logical. Then it started to come back to me… no, not the junk food aisle – the bread/peanut butter aisle – a ridiculous location in my opinion, but nonetheless, we found them there. We stood in line with our box of Twinkies, and I have to admit I was embarrassed, probably more so than I would be standing in line with feminine products.

When we got home we tore open the box and distributed Twinkies to all. I was actually excited about it. My memories of Twinkies were quite fond. But after the first bite, my husband and I glanced at each other with the same thought. They aren’t as good as we remembered. My oldest son took one bite, made a face and then ran away. The littlest one ate until he reached the “cream” filling, then he handed it to me and said “you eat it.” The only one of my family who appeared to like the Twinkie at all was the 6 year old, for whom this whole adventure was started in the first place.

It was a proud, proud day at our house.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 3:21 pm

    Funny! I was never much for Twinkies. My weakness was Zingers – the vanilla ones – which are hard to find now. Not that they would be allowed in the house anyway, because I would eat them. Although I am curious now as to whether they would taste as good to me as they did back then. I guess some things are truly sweeter in your memories 🙂

Leave a Reply

