Skip to content

a day's wage

June 24, 2009

Every Tuesday at our house is grocery day. I’m ever thankful that God gave me three boys that can help me carry all the groceries up the stairs from the garage each week. It has become standard procedure for everyone, including the toddler, to carry something. Then we all go up the stairs and work on putting things away. The end result of all this help is usually a kitchen scattered from end to end with empty grocery bags.

Yesterday my oldest decided, on his own, that he would help further by cleaning up all the bags. So I said to him, “Thank you so much for cleaning up all those bags without being asked.” He replied, “maybe I could do it every week and you could pay me for it.” I chuckled internally for a bit, and then said, “Maybe you could do it every week, but not for money. Maybe you could just do it as part of your share of the responsibilities. After all, I don’t get paid for doing your laundry or fixing your dinner.”

He looked a bit dejected and then he disappeared up the stairs. The surprise came when he reappeared with 65 cents. I said, “What is this for?” And he said, “for being the greatest mom in the world.”

I love that kid.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 9:54 pm

    LOVE it!

  2. June 25, 2009 8:10 am

    That is so sweet and funny at the same time! I once read a little blurb that if mom’s got paid minimum wage by the hour for the work they do what an enormous amount of money it would be, as you can imagine…well beyond 65 cents, but that’s definitely a start! 😀

  3. Debby Morton permalink
    June 29, 2009 9:57 am

    Kendra,
    You are raising such wonderful boy’s. You are a credit to Mom’s all over. By reading your blog I am constantly amazed by the sweet things they say and do.

  4. Angie permalink
    October 22, 2009 6:30 am

    That is so cute!!! I just love it!! I bet you felt pretty rich holding that .65 =) Be Blessed, Angie

Leave a Reply

