Skip to content

mammoth proportions

August 28, 2009

Okay, so this past weekend we loaded up the kids and made the 5 hour trek to Bowling Green, Kentucky. Apparently Bowling Green is quite the center of family fun. Who knew? We took a boat on a river that flows underground into Lost River Cave. We visited the National Corvette museum and the Corvette assembly plant. We mingled with marsupials and exotic birds at Kentucky Down Under. And, of course, we did what we originally set out to do – a tour of Mammoth Cave.

I could write page after page about the incredible weekend we had in Kentucky. But I kid myself that I would actually have time to do that now in the midst of cake-baking and home schooling. So instead, I’ll share just one of the highlights:

We arrived at Mammoth Cave about an hour ahead of our scheduled tour. We were all wearing appropriate caving attire – athletic pants, tennis shoes & jackets – with the exception of the (almost) 7 year old. Somehow I forgot to grab a jacket for him, so I told him that he could wear mine when it was time to enter the cave. He was pretty excited about the prospect of wearing Mommy’s clothes, so he spent the majority of that hour pestering me about why he couldn’t have the jacket now, particularly because it was secured around my waist and so I wasn’t technically wearing it. So I said, more to myself than to anyone else, “You can’t have it now because it is covering up my butt while we’re out here in broad daylight.”

This was, of course, heard by the entire family and so began the barrage of questions about why I needed a jacket to cover up my backside. My answer was “because I don’t like it very much.” Whether my son was being truthful, or just trying to convince me to give him the shirt, I will never know, but his response was, “awww Mom, I like your butt…”

My mind then began to process this statement… am I happy about this? Why yes, yes I am happy. A compliment is a compliment after all, even if it is coming from a 7 year old with ulterior motives. As I was reveling in the moment, he continued his thought…

“I like your butt because it is REALLY big.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Debby Morton permalink
    August 28, 2009 4:57 pm

    That was too funny Kendra…..Although not sure what to think if your son is calling your butt really big. Actually I do know what I am thinking….I think I best keep my butt out of his sight LOL.

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    August 28, 2009 5:23 pm

    No worries Debbie. I talked to him about it later, just to make sure he knew he wasn’t supposed to say that to girls. He said that he actually thought it was a nice thing to say because in Ice Age 2 Manny tells the girl mammoth that her butt is really big and she takes it as a compliment – after all, she is a mammoth. So, I made sure to let him know that real human girls don’t like to hear that πŸ™‚

  3. August 30, 2009 9:39 pm

    I love it and laughed out loud – but skinny mini you are πŸ™‚

  4. September 19, 2009 8:45 am

    Oh Kendra! Your blog stories make me laugh so hard! Keep ’em coming! What an adventure to be the mother of 3 boys!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

