Skip to content

smelly situation

September 16, 2009
tags: , , ,

Early Monday morning we dropped Amber off at the vet for her annual comprehensive exam. We decided to have them clean her teeth as well because after 2 1/2 years her breath has become, well, less than fresh. Probably because I refuse to brush her teeth. I love her, but I have enough teeth to brush around here already.

When it was time to pick her up, they handed me a bottle of antibiotics and informed me that it was a precaution to guard against infection in her gums from the cleaning procedure. Okay then.

The next day, after a couple doses of the medication I started to notice a smell that seemed to follow her around the house. Apparently the antibiotics have begun their assault on her intestinal tract. I went in the boys room last night to kiss them goodnight and the whole room smelled so bad I wanted to cry. Poor kids. I decided to leave their door open to let some fresh air in.

About 30 minutes later, I’m laying in bed, certain I can still smell her. So I got up, and sure enough, she had followed me downstairs and was laying outside my bedroom door. I could smell her stinky behind through the crack under the door!

Today I’m thankful for the relatively cool, cloudy day that makes it possible for me to keep the windows open. Poor dog. If it warms up I may have to banish her to the back yard.

I find it a litte ironic  that the reason we’re all suffering through this is that I thought her breath smelled bad.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angie permalink
    October 22, 2009 6:31 am

    That is so sad for all of you but I can’t help it, it made me chuckle =) be Blessed, Angie

Leave a Reply

