Skip to content

dirty feet

October 2, 2009

socksFor some reason, I have a really hard time committing to do things that take us out of our routine. I hear about a great opportunity to get away from the kitchen table for a day and say “yeah, maybe we’ll do that.” But when the day arrives, something always comes up that keeps us home. I have been determined to change that… to stop saying “maybe” and start saying “yes”.

Yesterday our homeschool group was planning to meet at 9 AM at a farm for a field trip. Corn maze, hay ride, lots of animals, loads of fun. I signed us up. Even told several people we were coming in an effort to give me some accountability. In order to be there at 9, we had to leave at 8:20. Somewhere along the way, children learn that the time to sleep in is anytime you have to be somewhere.

So I wake them all up at 7:30. Everyone is rushing around like madness. I’m making lunch and stuffing it in the back pack. Breakfast = dry cereal in a cup on the road. As I’m running to get the camera, I tell the older kids to take their little brother and all the cereal cups and get in the car. We pull out of the driveway at 8:27.  Miraculously, we make it to the farm at 9:03 and we aren’t even the last family to arrive. Yay. I turn around to give the kids their deboarding instructions and it hits me…

Little brother has no shoes. And we’re on a farm.

I sat for a minute collecting my thoughts, hoping there was some creative solution to my problem. Of course this would be the only time in my maternal history that there isn’t a spare shoe or two floating around the car.  I fought back every inclination to turn around and drive home. I finally came to terms with the fact that there was nothing to be done but let him run around in his socks. Socks in the muddy corn maze. Socks in the barn. Socks that would be tossed in the trash before we ever got back in the car.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    October 2, 2009 8:11 am

    You should have bronzed those socks!

    • Kendra permalink*
      October 2, 2009 10:51 am

      Funny. But I don’t think bronzing them would have been necessary. I think the 1/4 inch thick layer of mud would have preserved them for all eternity.

  2. Kerri permalink
    October 2, 2009 8:20 am

    I am sorry that I felt a tiny bit relieved yesterday that I’m not the only one these things happen to 🙂 You were very brave to stick it out (so was Sawyer)!

    Maybe we can be accountability partners for getting out of the house more often. I have also determined not to cop out on outings this year. We’ve already been to more things this year than all of last year combined.

    • Kendra permalink*
      October 2, 2009 10:47 am

      Sounds like a great idea!

  3. Debby Morton permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:56 pm

    How funny Kendra. At least you didn’t let it ruin your outing and socks are a small price to pay.

  4. October 2, 2009 10:17 pm

    Well I think that makes you Super Mommy to your supermen. You were such a good sport. I LOVE the photo. All the photos on your blog are just beautiful.

  5. November 27, 2009 10:32 am

    I laughed so hard… been there. So funny. I try to keep underwear & pants, but extra shoes in the car? We’re doing well to have gas in the car, lol! I would stay home everyday, but I have 2 boys also and know that sometimes, I’ve just got to move on past my desire to stay home and load of the road show. And it always feels like a road show. Thanks for sharing, enjoyed this so much. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend. Laura

  6. December 1, 2009 10:53 pm

    You deserve an award! There’s a blog award waiting for you over on Hodgepodgemom. Please stop by and pick it up: http://www.hodgepodge.me/HodgePodge/Tricias_Blog/Entries/2009/12/1_Superior_Scribbler.html

Leave a Reply

