Skip to content

one week down…

August 7, 2010

Despite hesitancy and schedule conflicts, we jumped right in to our school year this first week of August. I know that come November, our newest little bundle is going to slow things down a bit. And then Christmas will keep things on hold for a while longer… may as well work while we can.

So how did it go?

Saturday Since it was too hot to breathe out of doors, we tackled English, Spelling, and Handwriting to make room for the Monday morning doctor appointment for aforementioned little bundle.

Monday – We squeezed in some reading time before the 9:30 appointment. I dropped the kids off at a wonderful neighbor’s and was with the doctor in record time. Of course, as I was just about leave, I hear, “oh, we need to do your sugar test today.” So I run down to the lab, drink the Kool Aid, pick up the kids, drive back to the lab, laugh to myself while all my little men squirm and flinch while the tech is drawing my blood, then home in time for lunch.We finished school about an hour before it was time to cook dinner.

Tuesday – Grocery day. We tackle as much school as we can before we start the 3 hour biweekly shopping adventure. Then I marvel at how all this food that will barely squeeze into the refrigerator and pantry will be gone in less than two weeks. And the oldest boy isn’t even ten.

Wednesday – Exhausted from two very full school days, I decide to sleep in a bit. I don’ t know why I ever think that is a good idea. At 6:30 I hear our dog  race down the stairs. Why, oh why is she up already? I lay there a bit frustrated for another 30 minutes and then I get in the shower. I let the water wash away the sleep and determine to make a good start. I walk in the kitchen hoping for a few minutes to savor my coffee before the children bound down the stairs. Before I have time to wonder what is that smell?, I see it. A giant pile of poo in front of the back door. And the little one talking about the “brown stuff” on the floor tells me there’s more upstairs. It’s been almost three years since I had a mess like this to clean. Why today? Then again, is there ever a good day for poo on the floor?

We move on to school – and remarkably, everything goes smoothly. I even manage to start the little one in his first day of preschool. We learn all about the color red. Mom, I need help coloring this apple. It wasn’t that long ago that I heard those very words from my oldest. Now he wants to know what hyperbole is. What is hyperbole anyway?

I close my eyes that night, completely spent, but feeling good about the day as a whole.

Then the crying started. It’s the stomach bug. Sigh. Probably something he picked up in the 35 seconds he was with me at the doctor’s office.

Thursday I continue to wash the sick laundry that I started the night before and think to myself, at least it is actually laundry day. We’re a little late getting started, but little guy is on his third piece of bread and no more sickness, so I consider the morning a success.

Friday I planned to go to the homeschool day at the local water park, but the rain in the forecast and the busy week behind me talked me into staying home. Instead we spent a quiet afternoon drawing imaginary animals in colored pencil. My oldest invented a spider/lizard/bird/mouse and my middle son drew a caterpillar with a horse’s head. It was an altogether silly and fun way to end the week.

Whew!

I’d love to say that this was unusual and that normally things go much more smoothly. But that would be a lie. In truth, this IS normal. But we love it. This is what we do. This is the homeschool adventure, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 6:30 pm

    AMEN! And bless you Mama. I promise you’ll come back to this post next year and smile even bigger 🙂

  2. August 7, 2010 8:37 pm

    Oh, Kendra you are so funny!! I love it “Is there ever a good day to find poo?” Thanks for sharing your week with us and your heart!!

  3. Kerri permalink
    August 8, 2010 6:35 pm

    Sounds a bit like our normal! I’m looking forward to getting back in the swing of it, too 🙂

  4. August 11, 2010 8:52 am

    Thanks for sharing!

    Yes a great adventure,

    Hugs,

Leave a Reply

